Megan's Law is named after 7-year-old Megan Kanka, a New Jersey girl who was raped and killed by a known child molester who had moved across the street from the family without their knowledge. In the wake of the tragedy, the Kankas sought to have local communities warned about sex offenders in the area.
For more than 50 years, California has required dangerous sex offenders to register with their local law enforcement agencies. However, information on the whereabouts of these sex offenders was not available to the public until the implementation of the Child Molester Identification Line in July 1995. The information available was further expanded by California's Megan's Law in 1996 (Chapter 908, Stats. of 1996).
California's Megan's Law arms the public with certain information on the whereabouts of dangerous sex offenders so that local communities may protect themselves and their children. The law also authorizes local law enforcement to notify the public about high-risk and serious sex offenders who reside in, are employed in, or frequent the community.
Be aware that registered sex offenders may have committed crimes against children and/or adults. Megan’s Law provides residents and parents the opportunity to be proactive by taking necessary precautions to protect themselves and their children from the realistic threat of high risk sex offenders.
Any information you receive about a registered sex offender must be used responsibly. The law is not intended to punish the offender and specifically prohibits using the information to harass or commit any crime against the offender.